If you think you are beaten, you are

If you think you dare not, you don’t

If you like to win, but think you can’t

It’s almost a clinch, you won’t

 

If you think you will lose, you are lost,

For out in the world, we find

Success begins with a fellow’s will

It’s all in the state of mind.

 

If you think you are outclassed, you are

You have got to think high to rise

You have got to be sure of yourself before

You can ever win a prize.

 

Life’s battles do not always go

To the stronger and faster men

But sooner or later, man who wins

Is the man who thinks he can.

PS: Flashback to the days when we were still in school. This particular piece formed the last page of my student’s diary in one of the later years at Kendriya Vidyalaya, Pattom when Cicy madam was our principal. I don’t know how or why I had salvaged this one page out of all other gazillion bits that would have been there. I sure am glad I did what I did then. I’d be more than happy if reading this through has pushed you forward like it has done for me. A bit of motivation is always necessary to lead you on, no matter what.